Stately-Homes.com

Stately-Homes.com - Great Britains Heritage Guide

Search

You Are In

Home All Reviews

All Stately Homes Reviews

181-200 of 490 home reviews

Exbury Gardens

By Rita May Grimsted - 15 August 2011

Exbury Gardens have gone down in history - my memory is fresh as were the splendid masses of orchids, the wonderful trees and shrubs, wet with the early morning dew, the song of the birds greeting yet another day and, yes, a sense of peace came to us all as we searched for bird's eggs and collected leaves from the trees blowing in the breeze. It was the year 1944 - we were 10yrs old, and invited there by our dad R.N. Officer Ernie Grimsted to spend the weekend at HMS Mastodon, as he was then Master at Arms. He played the organ for us in Exbury Church, and we played putting on the church lawns - and so we were able to forget the enemy planes overhead and the odd one which crashed on the gardens. Life continued there despite so many obstacles, gardeners work so hard all year round to give us the continued joy sense of peace and well being, see you all again very soon God willing.

Stoke Park Pavilions

By Jane Holden - 14 August 2011

Stoke Park pavilions is a magical place, we visit every year and, apologies to the Chancellors, it almost feels like our own secret garden. Few people know about it and it is the perfect place to while away a few hours in August if you enjoy historical gardens. It isn't huge but has a lovely intimacy and slightly faded grandeur with its formal garden, orchard, herb garden as well as the beautiful Inigo Jones Pavilions and sweeping views. A gem.

Belton House

By Linda Lancashire - 13 August 2011

My daughter and I visited Belton House yesterday and absolutely fell in love with the place. We had a fabulous guided tour of the basement (where the servants lived and worked) and afterwards a tour of the main house. What a cosy place it is. It’s a home.....a real home, not just a museum. It has atmosphere. You can imagine the real people who lived there. The play and picnic areas are fantastic. My grandsons had an absolute ball!! Beautiful grounds, clean and tidy. Wonderful!

Compton Verney

By Danny - 10 August 2011

Compton Verney is a great looking place from a distance and not without charm, but I wish I could say the same for the poor quality, tired looking staff. They are very rude, unhelpful and if you have children, then in my opinion it's a poor choice for a family day out. So Compton Verney, it's a No from me!

Smedmore House

By Sue - 08 August 2011

Smedmore is so peaceful! Lovely to know that it will be open on the 3rd and 4th of September, 2011.

Balfour Castle

By Clair Rue - 06 August 2011

I was so pleased to be able to have a tour of Balfour back in 08 and one of the actual owners gave us the tour. We also had tea in the castle main dining room, fantastic. I have to admit the cakes and biscuits surprised me as they had cold tiny pancakes, they called them cold tea scones. The odd thing was they were so dang good with the homemade jams and sauces made on the castle grounds. The grounds themselves are worth the trip. The garden is without a doubt the most amazing one I have seen north of my home province in Newfoundland Canada. Even compared to some of the tropical places I’ve been they would give them a run. Never have I seen apples growing like a vine on the castle garden walls. The flowers are just mind blowing. I love it so much I will be going back in Sept 11 seeing as I have seen it in may want to see it in fall. Definitely worth the trip to Orkney. The owners at the time were just so welcoming, made us feel like we were coming home. Totally LOVED IT. I'LL BE BACK.

Tabley House Collection Trust

By Jan Krynski - 05 August 2011

I visited this stately home with my partner and friends on my birthday due to rain changing our plans. For once I was glad of the bad weather, as otherwise I would perhaps not have found this lovely place. Anyone who loves art and architecture not to mention beautiful furniture can happily spend an enjoyable afternoon here admiring it. The experience is enhanced by being able to get up close and personal with the collection and by the wonderfully knowledgeable volunteers who share their enthusiasm for the place while telling you its history.

Banqueting House

By Ed Christ - 31 July 2011

Visited the Banqueting House last August and was truly pleasantly surprised. A rare gem - the Rubens ceiling was amazing. My wife and I spent a very relaxing and enjoying time soaking in the atmosphere.

Brodsworth Hall & Gardens

By Brian Day - 24 July 2011

As a new Volunteer Room Steward at Brodsworth Hall and Gardens, since June 2011, I am delighted to serve visitors in this well-conserved house. In conserving the country house as it was found when English Heritage bought it in 1990, it is possible to appreciate the subtle changes made throughout the 19th and 20th centuries. Mrs Sylvia Grant-Dalton, who lived in the house for 56 years until her death in 1988, was keen to retain as much of the original character of the house as possible, although a leaking roof caused a great amount of damage. As a recent History graduate of the University of Derby, I am eager to learn more from the Steward files on each room in order to be able to answer as many questions as possible that visitors ask and help individuals appreciate the country house a little better. I write a regular blog on some of my experiences on Brodsworth Hall to create better understanding and promote myself as a volunteer with English Heritage.

Althorp

By Eve Roberts - 10 July 2011

We had a most wonderful time at Althorp. The Diana Exhibition is poignant without being mawkish and very understated and tastefully done. The house and gardens, whilst stupendous, come across nevertheless as a well loved family home. Worth every penny and a privilege to visit.

Grimsthorpe Castle

By Lyn-Marie - 30 June 2011

Excellent. Built for a King, granted to the Lady in Waiting to his first Queen, granted to the friend of that King and lived in by his friend's wife, this house is worthy of being on the ten top sites of Britain list, should such a list exist. Grimsthorpe is a Tudor house on the outside, a medieval castle at one side, a Tudor home at the other, and inside it shines a light on the renaissance, the Jacobean and the Georgian rebuilding and decorations. However, the main thing this house has is style and it is very beautiful. I normally am disappointed when a Tudor house no longer has Tudor as its heart, but the house is very tasteful in the use of all of the styles from the Tudor to the early Victorian in the China Room, blue in colour and a very peaceful place. Some Tudor aspects remain, the chapel and the long gallery for one and the fireplaces and high ceilings and the intimate rooms are all Tudor aspects. The great windows are from the same era, but the later rooms and the windows complement those built by Brandon well. The long range makes you feel a little lost, but that is part of the charm of the house and it is still worthy of its owners and the King it was built to please. The gardens and the other attractions are well worth a visit and there is something for everyone. The information boards outside give a good history of the house and show what Grimsthorpe looked like in Duchess Katherine's day. The disabled parking is very close to the house and the guides are full of information and a lot of tales of the ancestors. Many famous and lovely paintings on the walls, including one of a young Princess Mary Tudor, daughter to Henry VIII. A very fine statue based on Roman God Mars in the gardens, copied from one in Rome and decoration from Laycote Abbey. Great cafe and great facilities and plenty of toilets. A good day out for everyone.

Belton House

By Hugh Johnson - 26 June 2011

My wife & myself visited this property on a very wet June Sunday recently,so, due to the weather were unable to explore the extensive gardens but concentrated on the house. After a coffee in the N.T.run restaurant we joined a Below Stairs Tour of 50 minutes duration led by one of the very knowledgeable volunteers. These are included in the Entrance Fee and are extremely worthwhile.[The first year they have run them] After lunch in the Restaurant we ventured into the house where we spent the next 2 hours soaking in the atmosphere & chatting to the enthusiastic and well informed Room Stewards. The National Trust have introduced a theme on King Edward VIII,as he was a frequent guest at the house up to his abdication.with the owner of the house at that time Perry Brownlow being very closely involved with the abdication, including staying with his wife frequently at Fort Belvedere, Sunninghill & accompanying Wallis Simpson to Cannes at the height of the crisis. We found the whole visit very inspirational & look forward to exploring the gardens next time.

Weston Park

By Stacey Millard - 22 June 2011

Without question Britain's finest stately home. An outstanding art collection which can be experienced on a one-to-one basis when you stay in the house or visit as a day visitor during season (HHA Friends and Members FREE). This place understands hospitality in its truest sense and appeals to all ages and backgrounds. Superb restaurant and gallery in the Granary which is open all year round and is FREE.

Wassand Hall

By J Chapman - 12 June 2011

Wassand Hall is a hidden gem - the building and grounds are magnificent, the staff could not be more helpful and the refreshments delicious - the only problem is the limited number of days when it is open!

Capheaton Hall

By Malcolm Pears - 12 June 2011

Visited Capheaton Hall on Saturday 11th June 2011, we were made most welcome by William the owner and his wife, William showed us around and with my son Richard gave a most comprehensive history of the property and Swinbourne Family. William's wife and his mother served up superb fare to cap the visit off, excellent paintings, furniture and gardens. A must for all families personally interested in beautiful historic Northumberland estates - well done William - it was fantastic

The Tower of London

By Stuart - 23 May 2011

Booked Tickets online for a trip to see the Tower of London, fantastic insight into such a wonderful place, the Crown Jewels are a must see.

Cresselly

By Mel McQueen - 12 May 2011

What can I say? Except a huge thank you for looking after us so well on Friday night. We all had a blast. It was such good fun and a great start to our weekend. Your house is fantastic, the bedrooms and bathrooms were amazingly comfortable with everything one could possibly need. Our only complaint is that we couldn't stay in bed longer on Saturday morning and not had to dash off so early! It was really kind of you to ferry some of our party up to Val Rees's - well beyond the call of duty, but nonetheless much appreciated. The pub is just as I remember it - bloody good craic! Please also pass on our thanks to Kate who provided the most delicious breakfast (proper sausages and bacon!) and with a sense of humour - not easy at that time in the morning. It goes without saying we will all be recommending you to all our friends and if we are ever down your way again, we will most definitely come and stay again. Hope we didn't leave too much of a trail of destruction in our wake! Oh yes, the rest of our weekend on Skomer was fantastic too, the Welsh weather was particularly kind to us! Thank you. Mel

Winkburn Hall

By Derek Redmayne - 20 October 2010

You have doubtless had many similar emails, but I was a pupil at Winkburn Hall from 1939-1945 when the Dolphin School was evacuated from Nottingham at the start of the war. I drove by briefly about 20 years ago but I have not been inside the building since July 1945! It was quite an eventful time and I have many memories, mostly happy ones.We were very fortunate to have Jersey milk most days from the family farm (Craven-Smith- Milnes) at Hockerton, most unusual in war-time. I could go on reminiscing! I live now in Bucks.

Davenport House

By Pat Mincher - 08 October 2010

Outstanding in every department, from venue to hospitality and food for the occasion of our daughter's wedding.

Gaulden Manor

By Sara Montague - 28 September 2010

My great great.........grandfather owned this place in about 1630........Robert Selleck.

Write A Review

Have you visited a Stately Home or historic property? Find a home you've visited recently and submit your review!