Stately-Homes.com

Stately-Homes.com - Great Britains Heritage Guide

Search

You Are In

Home All Reviews

All Stately Homes Reviews

181-200 of 479 home reviews

Belton House

By Hugh Johnson - 26 June 2011

My wife & myself visited this property on a very wet June Sunday recently,so, due to the weather were unable to explore the extensive gardens but concentrated on the house. After a coffee in the N.T.run restaurant we joined a Below Stairs Tour of 50 minutes duration led by one of the very knowledgeable volunteers. These are included in the Entrance Fee and are extremely worthwhile.[The first year they have run them] After lunch in the Restaurant we ventured into the house where we spent the next 2 hours soaking in the atmosphere & chatting to the enthusiastic and well informed Room Stewards. The National Trust have introduced a theme on King Edward VIII,as he was a frequent guest at the house up to his abdication.with the owner of the house at that time Perry Brownlow being very closely involved with the abdication, including staying with his wife frequently at Fort Belvedere, Sunninghill & accompanying Wallis Simpson to Cannes at the height of the crisis. We found the whole visit very inspirational & look forward to exploring the gardens next time.

Weston Park

By Stacey Millard - 22 June 2011

Without question Britain's finest stately home. An outstanding art collection which can be experienced on a one-to-one basis when you stay in the house or visit as a day visitor during season (HHA Friends and Members FREE). This place understands hospitality in its truest sense and appeals to all ages and backgrounds. Superb restaurant and gallery in the Granary which is open all year round and is FREE.

Wassand Hall

By J Chapman - 12 June 2011

Wassand Hall is a hidden gem - the building and grounds are magnificent, the staff could not be more helpful and the refreshments delicious - the only problem is the limited number of days when it is open!

Capheaton Hall

By Malcolm Pears - 12 June 2011

Visited Capheaton Hall on Saturday 11th June 2011, we were made most welcome by William the owner and his wife, William showed us around and with my son Richard gave a most comprehensive history of the property and Swinbourne Family. William's wife and his mother served up superb fare to cap the visit off, excellent paintings, furniture and gardens. A must for all families personally interested in beautiful historic Northumberland estates - well done William - it was fantastic

The Tower of London

By Stuart - 23 May 2011

Booked Tickets online for a trip to see the Tower of London, fantastic insight into such a wonderful place, the Crown Jewels are a must see.

Cresselly

By Mel McQueen - 12 May 2011

What can I say? Except a huge thank you for looking after us so well on Friday night. We all had a blast. It was such good fun and a great start to our weekend. Your house is fantastic, the bedrooms and bathrooms were amazingly comfortable with everything one could possibly need. Our only complaint is that we couldn't stay in bed longer on Saturday morning and not had to dash off so early! It was really kind of you to ferry some of our party up to Val Rees's - well beyond the call of duty, but nonetheless much appreciated. The pub is just as I remember it - bloody good craic! Please also pass on our thanks to Kate who provided the most delicious breakfast (proper sausages and bacon!) and with a sense of humour - not easy at that time in the morning. It goes without saying we will all be recommending you to all our friends and if we are ever down your way again, we will most definitely come and stay again. Hope we didn't leave too much of a trail of destruction in our wake! Oh yes, the rest of our weekend on Skomer was fantastic too, the Welsh weather was particularly kind to us! Thank you. Mel

Winkburn Hall

By Derek Redmayne - 20 October 2010

You have doubtless had many similar emails, but I was a pupil at Winkburn Hall from 1939-1945 when the Dolphin School was evacuated from Nottingham at the start of the war. I drove by briefly about 20 years ago but I have not been inside the building since July 1945! It was quite an eventful time and I have many memories, mostly happy ones.We were very fortunate to have Jersey milk most days from the family farm (Craven-Smith- Milnes) at Hockerton, most unusual in war-time. I could go on reminiscing! I live now in Bucks.

Davenport House

By Pat Mincher - 08 October 2010

Outstanding in every department, from venue to hospitality and food for the occasion of our daughter's wedding.

Gaulden Manor

By Sara Montague - 28 September 2010

My great great.........grandfather owned this place in about 1630........Robert Selleck.

Copped Hall

By Ann Paris - 14 September 2010

My grandfather worked on the Copped Hall estate for many years and name of the house, called New Farm House on the estate was changed, when the granddaughter of the Wythes family inherited the house she changed it to Paris Hall after him. He lived in the cottages on the high road, no 11 Griffins Wood Cotaages. His name was George Paris, his wife Jessie. When we were children, my brother and I used to play in the ruins of the hall, it was a wonderful time. If anyone remembers my family I would love you to get in touch.

Winkburn Hall

By V.A. - 12 September 2010

I stayed at Winkburn Hall in the first week of July 2010 with one of the owners' grandsons whose nanny I was at the time. It's a beautiful house which was in a huge disrepair when the present owners (the son of the original owner and his wife) reacquired it in the early 1980s after the original owners were forced to sell it in the 1930s. They are trying to put it back in shape. I had a great time there.

Smedmore House

By MS - 05 September 2010

As a photographer of historic buildings it was disappointing to see tented stalls directly in front of the house obscuring the view when there was plenty of room to accommodate these elsewhere in the grounds. Otherwise, well worth the entrance money, but it would be nice to be afforded a clear view of this magnificent house at some time in the future.

Smedmore House

By MM - 30 August 2010

Parts of Smedmore date back to the 14th Century when it was probably a farm house. The estate has been held by members of the same family since it was purchased during the reformation, and the original deeds are displayed in the house. The house has undergone many alterations since it was built and has two beautiful bow fronts bracketing what is now the entrance. It is likely that where visitors now enter (through the Cedar Room) was once the original entrance. Smedmore estate is set in beautiful countryside, surrounded by sea and hills with its own micro-climate which makes the gardens such a surprise. Once had its own brewery where you can now buy tea and cakes.

Wotton House

By Hugh N Talmage - 30 August 2010

Hello, I was at school at Wotton in the fifties, under Mr. Lester as Headmaster. It would be very interesting to get in touch with anybody who was at school during those years. I have visited Wotton several times over the years, hated school but loved the house and grounds, especially the fun we had on the lakes. So perhaps you might like to get in touch, hughraj@talktalk.net, I hope so.

Sandford Orcas Manor House

By Alec Hamilton - 24 August 2010

The admission price was £5 not £4 when we went! However, well worth the visit. Sir Mervyn is a great guide, genial and relaxed, and the house is full of interest and surprises.

Hoghton Tower

By Jackie Warren - 15 August 2010

Just returned home after visiting the beautiful Hoghton Tower and Gardens. The guided tour was really informative and the hour and a half went so quickly. I will definitely be returning as there is still so much to see and enjoy. Well worth a visit.

Kentwell Hall

By Bob Atkin - 15 August 2010

We were warmly greeted by the lady at the entrance. We were pleasantly intrigued by Kentwell as it is very much a lived in home and not an art gallery or museum where everything is meticulously placed! It was nice to be able to take photographs inside the building too, a rare luxury these days at most stately homes. We visited Houghton Hall in Norfolk the previous day and must say we enjoyed Kentwell far more. The restoration being undertaken by the Phillips family is good to see and great credit is due to them for their tireless work in saving this magnificent building for future generations.

Paxton House & Country Park

By M. Monteith - 14 August 2010

Today we attended fish tagging at the Paxton House Netting Station, and found it very interesting and informative. The Tweed Foundation Members and all who were involved were very friendly and patient when answering our questions. We really enjoyed ourselves, and will definitely be back. Thank you.

Brodsworth Hall & Gardens

By Valerie Holdsworth - 27 July 2010

We had a most enjoyable visit to Brodsworth Hall today. The gardens were beautiful and the gardeners were very enthusiastic and informative about the plants. After a lunch taken in the outside area we visited the interior of the house and the room guides were so knowledgeable and ready to talk to us that it took much longer than we anticipated. Well done to everyone concerned we felt very welcome and the visit was excellent.

Lanhydrock House

By G Davies - 22 July 2010

We visited this house in June, house and particularly the gardens are pretty impressive and decorated with items from the period. We thought it slightly expensive for what it is, but has to be funded somehow; the staff also heavily pushed the National Trust annual membership. There is a fairly long walk from the car park to the house, which is a fairly steep hill, with the ascent on the return, there was a bus available, for a fee, walking isn't a problem for us but just a warning for anyone not expecting it. It is also worth leaving large bags in the car as you will be relieved of these when you enter the house which are returned when you leave, as with a lot of these places no photography in the house. Overall though a pleasant place to visit.

Write A Review

Have you visited a Stately Home or historic property? Find a home you've visited recently and submit your review!