Stately-Homes.com

Stately-Homes.com - Great Britains Heritage Guide

Search

You Are In

Home All Reviews

All Stately Homes Reviews

41-60 of 479 home reviews

Mannington Hall

By Peter - 20 July 2013

A charming house in delightful gardens,with the added benefit of an excellent tea shop. Quite the nicest house we visited out of six,including four National trust properties. Highly recommended

Mellerstain House

By Rose Murray - 20 July 2013

Enjoyed my visit to Mellerstain recently, the gardens are stunning and the beautiful smell of the roses was breathtaking the house and its history was very interesting I would recommend to visit Mellerstain as myself and my partner it enjoyed it very much .

Castle Ashby

By june - 16 July 2013

YOU HAVE INDEED AN OUTSTANDING.HOME,GARDENS ETC,WENT TODAY WITH MY DISABLED PARTNER FIRST TIME EVER,FANTASTIC,NEVER KNEW THAT THIS WAS ON THE DOORSTEP,SHAME THAT THE HOUSE IS NOT OPEN TO THE PUBLIC,IS THERE A REASON WHY.

Langstone Court

By Cornelia - 10 July 2013

I visited Llangston Court this morning and was fortunate enough to be able to spend several hours in the not only the beautiful grounds, but also in a superb Walled Garden, which has generously been made available. It is a lovely place for a visit: calm, peaceful and, as a visitor, one is made very welcome. I highly recommend a visit. Lunch on the sheep meadow with the view to the brook is lovely.

Aynhoe Park

By Nicola - 10 July 2013

Visited the Ayhoe Park recently, we had a great day. There's so many interesting and quirky things in the house. I saw they do weddings, spa days and unique home stays too, which looked very interesting.

Wrest Park

By Steve Osborne - 02 July 2013

I have been visiting Wrest Park for over 40 years. As a child with my parents, on works picnic days, with my children, for concerts and event days and now with my wife just to sit and relax on lovely summer days. It holds so many happy memories. The restoration project is fantastic. I always thought the gardens were wonderful anyway, but now they are almost back to their original state they look absolutely magnificent. Well worth a visit especially exploring the hidden corners and follies and watching the croquet. Take a rug, a book and a picnic and spend the whole day chilling out in it's peaceful splendour.

Brean Down

By Steve - 20 June 2013

Great place whatever the weather. In fine weather the views are tremendous and when it gets a bit woolly a great place to blow the cobwebs away. Steep climb up the steps or longer but gentler slope depending on your fitness. Whilst it is free to access, you'll probably arrive by car and the only parking is in the car park for which a fee is payable. Super circular walk with lots of plants to look for in the short turf. Birds, insects and a semi-ruined fort. Brilliant day out.

Dorney Court

By Bridget Neate - 18 June 2013

It was a delight to visit a stately home that was a home and had not been overwhelmed by coldly perfect restoration. It seemed to have a greater authenticity and charm than others I have visited. I spent a most interesting afternoon on 10th May with an excellent and welcoming guide.

Fort George

By Joyce Macrae - 04 June 2013

We were lucky to receive an invite from Brian Ford from historic Scotland to visit Fort George last night. It was the best visit ever the museum is a must and Brian made it so interesting. It was a pity that out of 400 invites only 8 people attended. Thank you so much, Joyce Macrae Macrae House. Inverness

Kingston Lacy House, Park & Garden

By julie young - 02 June 2013

going to visit this lovely property with its gardens and woodland this coming week - cant't wait, last visited last year when we stayed in the caravan park nearby, being members of the trust we have made very good use of our membership well worth the money. Mike and Julie Young Evercreech, shepton mallet, somerset.

Rossendale Museum

By P S Farley - 20 May 2013

Formerly a private home for a wealthy local family, the house is now a museum offering free entry to the public and with easy access for wheelchair users. It is situated within walking distance of the centre of Rawtenstall and has adequate free parking for automobiles that is adjacent to the building. The surrounding gardens make for a pleasant place to walk and relax either before or after visiting the exhibits. Talking of which, the visitor will be bowled over by the diversity of items on display. A baby elephant? Yes, there is one of those to see and along with many other 'preserved' animals provide a fascinating spectacle for the younger visitor. Large life-like oil paintings of people and places adorn the walls of selected rooms and passages and provide a colourful glimpse into an era that is long gone. Militaria from two World Wars are on display and there are even more rarer items remembering the Anglo-Boer War of 1899-1902 to be seen. Staff members are on duty to answer questions and help make the visit an enjoyable and memorable event.

The Hall at Abbey-Cwm-Hir

By ann wheeler - 10 May 2013

Made really welcome into this fabulous family home. Stunning rooms and what talented local people who live around here have added is amazing. Being shown around by the owner adds something special as it adds that personal feel to the tour. I wish we could have stayed a lot longer. I will definately be back with my soon

The Castle Mews

By nicolas riou - 09 May 2013

I spent the first few years of my life in Cardiff Mews as well. I remember a lot of fun, especially during the Military Tatoo and a lot of very nice people living there......such as Mrs Coslett ( Auntie Ida) who had a telephone...which was used by most of the Mews residents !

Longner Hall

By Ray Thatcher - 08 May 2013

I visited Longner Hall on the May day bank holiday 2013 and very much enjoyed the guided tour undertaken by Mrs Burton. She was informative and very welcoming. The house is a fascinating example of a country house by John Nash and is maintained ion excellent condition by the owners, the Burton family. The interiors are well presented and the gardens are excellent. i would recommend others to visit.

Ewenny Priory

By angela connelly - 02 May 2013

One of the most peaceful and spiritual places I have ever visited.

Dunwood Hall

By Christine Turner - 28 April 2013

Looking at your website has bought back many memories. When I was a young girl, mad about horses, I was very lucky to have the opportunity to go on a riding holiday. In 1963 aged just 13, my parents sent me to Dunwood Hall for 2 weeks holiday. Dunwood Hall was then a hotel that hosted riding holidays. It was truely magical. Looking at the picture of the balcony I remembered a crowd of us leaning over to see if breakfast was ready. A long very old trestle table stood in the hall, infront of the fire, that is where we ate our meals. Each girl or boy was allocated a pony of their own to look after during their stay and we enjoyed many hours of riding, fun and laughter. An old swimming pool outside the house (and full of frogs I remember)also gave us a hours of fun. I would recommend any one to visit for a stay in such a wonderful old house now that is is a hotel. I will definitely be visiting.

Brocket Hall

By Jackie Lonsdale - 10 April 2013

We had my daughters wedding in the Oak room on the 16.3.13, it was all perfect, except thr weather!! none the less it was a magical day. I just wanted to mention that Bruno, our host for the day was a consumate proffessional throughout the day. Especially after my mother collapsed at the start of the wedding breakfast, it was a terrible shock to all of us and unfortunately the wedding party all lost our appetites,and missed eating our delicious looking beef! But once we knew she was ok and the paramedics were on route, we knew the show had to go on. I cannot praise Bruno enough, he took care of Mum, he kept the wedding going and nothing was too much trouble. If I was rich I would give him a huge big bonus, cause he really deserves recognition for his support and endearing personality throughout the day and the evening prior to the wedding Brilliant and I cannot thank him enough xx

Coleham Pumping Station

By Roger Wills - 07 April 2013

On the first open day of this year,I was truly impressed during the 2 hrs I spent at this historic attraction. The machinery, principally 2 working beam engines, is maintained to a magnificent standard, by a volunteer workforce with unbounded enthusiasm, and knowledge. I have a family interest in steam working, and after today my levels of both facts, and enthusiastic wishes to be more involved has been rekindled. Well done all involved.

Sawley Abbey

By Tom Mckibbin - 31 March 2013

Lovely quiet place to visit with River Ribble close by.

Croyden Palace

By Joseph Waterfall - 30 March 2013

I used to work at Hampton Court Palace and I was also a local historian. I visited Croydon Palace in 1998 and was intrigued with the building and its associated history. I was fascinated from start to finish of the tour and now in 2013 I have never forgotten that visit. I now live in north Nottinghamshire and give talks on English history and sometimes include a mention of Croydon Palace. Over the last 15 years I have only come in contact with two people who have known about the Palace. If I am in London again, I would love to walk round this intriguing building again and walk down memory lane again. God Bless all of you who look after this fine old Palace.

Write A Review

Have you visited a Stately Home or historic property? Find a home you've visited recently and submit your review!