Stately-Homes.com

Stately-Homes.com - Great Britains Heritage Guide

Search

You Are In

Home All Reviews

All Stately Homes Reviews

41-60 of 472 home reviews

Dorney Court

By Bridget Neate - 18 June 2013

It was a delight to visit a stately home that was a home and had not been overwhelmed by coldly perfect restoration. It seemed to have a greater authenticity and charm than others I have visited. I spent a most interesting afternoon on 10th May with an excellent and welcoming guide.

Fort George

By Joyce Macrae - 04 June 2013

We were lucky to receive an invite from Brian Ford from historic Scotland to visit Fort George last night. It was the best visit ever the museum is a must and Brian made it so interesting. It was a pity that out of 400 invites only 8 people attended. Thank you so much, Joyce Macrae Macrae House. Inverness

Kingston Lacy House, Park & Garden

By julie young - 02 June 2013

going to visit this lovely property with its gardens and woodland this coming week - cant't wait, last visited last year when we stayed in the caravan park nearby, being members of the trust we have made very good use of our membership well worth the money. Mike and Julie Young Evercreech, shepton mallet, somerset.

Rossendale Museum

By P S Farley - 20 May 2013

Formerly a private home for a wealthy local family, the house is now a museum offering free entry to the public and with easy access for wheelchair users. It is situated within walking distance of the centre of Rawtenstall and has adequate free parking for automobiles that is adjacent to the building. The surrounding gardens make for a pleasant place to walk and relax either before or after visiting the exhibits. Talking of which, the visitor will be bowled over by the diversity of items on display. A baby elephant? Yes, there is one of those to see and along with many other 'preserved' animals provide a fascinating spectacle for the younger visitor. Large life-like oil paintings of people and places adorn the walls of selected rooms and passages and provide a colourful glimpse into an era that is long gone. Militaria from two World Wars are on display and there are even more rarer items remembering the Anglo-Boer War of 1899-1902 to be seen. Staff members are on duty to answer questions and help make the visit an enjoyable and memorable event.

The Hall at Abbey-Cwm-Hir

By ann wheeler - 10 May 2013

Made really welcome into this fabulous family home. Stunning rooms and what talented local people who live around here have added is amazing. Being shown around by the owner adds something special as it adds that personal feel to the tour. I wish we could have stayed a lot longer. I will definately be back with my soon

The Castle Mews

By nicolas riou - 09 May 2013

I spent the first few years of my life in Cardiff Mews as well. I remember a lot of fun, especially during the Military Tatoo and a lot of very nice people living there......such as Mrs Coslett ( Auntie Ida) who had a telephone...which was used by most of the Mews residents !

Longner Hall

By Ray Thatcher - 08 May 2013

I visited Longner Hall on the May day bank holiday 2013 and very much enjoyed the guided tour undertaken by Mrs Burton. She was informative and very welcoming. The house is a fascinating example of a country house by John Nash and is maintained ion excellent condition by the owners, the Burton family. The interiors are well presented and the gardens are excellent. i would recommend others to visit.

Ewenny Priory

By angela connelly - 02 May 2013

One of the most peaceful and spiritual places I have ever visited.

Dunwood Hall

By Christine Turner - 28 April 2013

Looking at your website has bought back many memories. When I was a young girl, mad about horses, I was very lucky to have the opportunity to go on a riding holiday. In 1963 aged just 13, my parents sent me to Dunwood Hall for 2 weeks holiday. Dunwood Hall was then a hotel that hosted riding holidays. It was truely magical. Looking at the picture of the balcony I remembered a crowd of us leaning over to see if breakfast was ready. A long very old trestle table stood in the hall, infront of the fire, that is where we ate our meals. Each girl or boy was allocated a pony of their own to look after during their stay and we enjoyed many hours of riding, fun and laughter. An old swimming pool outside the house (and full of frogs I remember)also gave us a hours of fun. I would recommend any one to visit for a stay in such a wonderful old house now that is is a hotel. I will definitely be visiting.

Brocket Hall

By Jackie Lonsdale - 10 April 2013

We had my daughters wedding in the Oak room on the 16.3.13, it was all perfect, except thr weather!! none the less it was a magical day. I just wanted to mention that Bruno, our host for the day was a consumate proffessional throughout the day. Especially after my mother collapsed at the start of the wedding breakfast, it was a terrible shock to all of us and unfortunately the wedding party all lost our appetites,and missed eating our delicious looking beef! But once we knew she was ok and the paramedics were on route, we knew the show had to go on. I cannot praise Bruno enough, he took care of Mum, he kept the wedding going and nothing was too much trouble. If I was rich I would give him a huge big bonus, cause he really deserves recognition for his support and endearing personality throughout the day and the evening prior to the wedding Brilliant and I cannot thank him enough xx

Coleham Pumping Station

By Roger Wills - 07 April 2013

On the first open day of this year,I was truly impressed during the 2 hrs I spent at this historic attraction. The machinery, principally 2 working beam engines, is maintained to a magnificent standard, by a volunteer workforce with unbounded enthusiasm, and knowledge. I have a family interest in steam working, and after today my levels of both facts, and enthusiastic wishes to be more involved has been rekindled. Well done all involved.

Sawley Abbey

By Tom Mckibbin - 31 March 2013

Lovely quiet place to visit with River Ribble close by.

Croyden Palace

By Joseph Waterfall - 30 March 2013

I used to work at Hampton Court Palace and I was also a local historian. I visited Croydon Palace in 1998 and was intrigued with the building and its associated history. I was fascinated from start to finish of the tour and now in 2013 I have never forgotten that visit. I now live in north Nottinghamshire and give talks on English history and sometimes include a mention of Croydon Palace. Over the last 15 years I have only come in contact with two people who have known about the Palace. If I am in London again, I would love to walk round this intriguing building again and walk down memory lane again. God Bless all of you who look after this fine old Palace.

Boughton House

By maree morton - 30 March 2013

hello to all...it has been a while but i hope you get this message...i lived in the dower house for a period of six months as a care and looked after the wonderful and different lady scott....valarie finnes..i have since returned to live in australia.The last time i was in boughton house was to attend the garden party of th elaunch of lady scotts book,the time i lived at the dower house was the best time of my life, i have wonderful memories and photoes, i would like to return one day and visit the main house,my vert best regards to you all......maree morton.

Newby Hall & Gardens

By Jenny Clare - 11 March 2013

We have been visiting Newby Hall for many seasons now. We used to bring our grandchildren who loved to play in the childrens' area where their particular happiness was to be had in a boat on the lake ,much fun but also very safe. We now spend our time in the gardens which are the most beautiful we have ever visited The herbacious border is superb. We come very regularly and there is always something new to be seen,but very rarely any weeds. The gardeners are to be highly complimented and are always ready to answer any questions. The cafe is a delight and food excellent if a bit expensive.Service is friendly and efficient and a visit there rounds off a most happy day out. It is very difficult to choose a favourite area but the cornus collection is simply anazing while the laburnum arch is not to be missed and Sylvia's garden ia place of peace.

Sutton House

By Dave Pavett - 27 February 2013

I have visited Sutton Ho several times, it gives the feel of an ancient house, with its old brickwork, panelled rooms, exhibits, visual guides, etc, well worth the small admission charge. Staff are friendly, secondhand books are on sale, and a tea and cake cafe. I will be going again

Naworth Castle

By Pat Watkins - 26 February 2013

Amazing, The history, the beauty and the family. We were treated like we were royals.

The Grange

By Joe Logan - 23 February 2013

I resumed my education at the Grange in the very early 1960,s, as a day-boy.The Grange was partn of the then St. Augustines Abbey School,( in 1968 changed it,s name to St. Augustines College ).It was a minor public school, but I have very fond memories of my stay there. The library was second to none. The classrooms were very old, damp and draughty,and were accessed by ricketey staircases.Father Paul,OSB taught and lived at the Grange, he suffered with chronic asthma,he had a small weather station,which was situated on the front lawn which over looked the sea, that too was part of our playground. The Grange itself was a very dark building, with lots of wood panels, but a lovely staircase, then led eventually to the tower.The flooring inthe passage ways were of minton tiles.The Grange also had it,s own dormitories for the boarders. Finally, I must agree with Mr.Yorke-Starkey,s appraisal of the Grange, and I told Father Paul that I thought the place was HAUNTED, and was told I was imaganing it, but there was definitely a Presence, I cannot explain any other way. Joe Logan-Sheffield, South Yorkshire, Age: 60

Dudmaston

By Sandra Rimell - 17 February 2013

I visited Dundmaston yesterday with friends to see the Snowdrops. What a fantastic experience. The walk and the views are really to be seen to be appreciated. The staff in all areas were friendly. Would certainly visit again in the Summer.

Aubourn Hall

By Barbara Riley - 11 February 2013

The garden is still being improved with new areas including a prairie garden area best seen in late summer. However, don't miss the spring plant fair, organised by Plant Heritage, on Sunday April 28th!

Write A Review

Have you visited a Stately Home or historic property? Find a home you've visited recently and submit your review!