Stately-Homes.com

Stately-Homes.com - Great Britains Heritage Guide

Search

You Are In

Home All Reviews

All Stately Homes Reviews

41-60 of 492 home reviews

Leadenham House

By Susan Morriss-Begg - 16 September 2013

I have much admired this Georgian building having viewed from a distance travelling on A17 towards Sleaford on my way back from, usually dog shows... So in love with this house, so much so, that I have now researched and found out that it is open to visitors... Thrilled with the knowledge, however, so disappointed to learn that opening times have passed, I will now have to wait until the Spring, should have researched earlier :( Regards Susan

Carnfield Hall

By Elizabeth Dominguez - 28 August 2013

Saw a program on the telly. Truly beautiful house and grounds chockers with the most breath-taking antiques of all descriptions. Love to visit though Australia is a long way away.Thank God it has all been so magnificently preserved. All credit to the owner. He has an absolute treasure house of exquisite objets d'art. Grateful thanks for the incredible privilege of seeing it and them. all the best in the future. Regards Elizabeth Dominguez

Hammerwood Park

By Jacqueline Denise Mack - 26 August 2013

My partner and I visited this house this afternoon, unfortunately, we missed the guided tour but were welcomed in for tea. We did not see inside the house because we missed the tour. We joined the conversation with the owner and his theories about the architecture and design, which was very interesting. The house has been saved from ruin by th owner and his family. The view from the house is stunning. We will make a proper visit rather than drop by too late to see this fascinating house.

Ripley Castle

By ron campling - 24 August 2013

I have just come back from spending two days in Harrowgate,one of my days was spent in Ripley. We arrived at about 10am and to my amazement there was a free car park to start with, space if you wanted to to have your picnic. We had already decided we were going to visit Ripley Castle we were told that the first tour would start at 11am so we had a look around for a while and had a look at the deli and a bit of the grounds. Anyway the tour started we were greeted by our guide, about 12 of us and what a lovely tour. We had just seven rooms but steeped with centuries of history and it was exellent value. There was plenty to do we had a good walk round the lake, we also mingled in with other families as there was a competition for the children to discover which boar was what, we spent the whole day there and would like to say thankyou Ron Campling

Kentchurch Court

By susan gillespie - 24 August 2013

I wonder if this place is England's best-kept secret; Kentchurch hardly seems to figure on the map, and the road signage gives not the slightest clue of what to expect. The Bridge Inn was well worth a visit, and easy to find, since Kentchurch village is so very, very small. It has a very decorative painted sign in which the original Manorial Lord, Jack of Kent, cheats the devil of a human soul -we are already in the land of legends here,on the very western edge of England and Wales. The river Monnow marks the border, and the Bridge is still there, though a obviously updated in a previous century. The Great House itself has its own stock of legends, all of which seem perfectly convincing. There has never been a more romantic house. Situated in a hollow, surrounded by gorgeous gardens, overlooked by deer grazing under the great old oaks on the hill behind...I saw a production of "Romeo and Juliet" here one summer dusk in the ampitheatre in front of the house. The setting could not have been better. The house has evolved over it's life and clearly shows each stage of development, beginning with an 11th Century tower reputed to be the last hiding place of Owen Glendower, Welsh prince and hero. I have it on good authority that his presence still lingers. If you are travelling through the West Midlands from Hereford to Abergavenny, look very carefully for the signs at Pontrilas, take a left onto B4543, and back in time.

Balcarres

By donald fraser - 24 August 2013

Grew up at Balcarres in the early 50's , ( spratty hall) still looks the same , good as ever.

Parham House & Gardens

By Patricia Walker - 15 August 2013

I first went to Parham Park some years ago and, needless to say, I fell in love with it, so much so that, I have visited it several times since. It is so beautiful and peaceful that I could live there quite happily for the rest of my days - if only!

Sufton Court

By J Simpson - 13 August 2013

Beautiful house in wonderful setting on top of a rise, with far stretching views. House is compact with just four rooms on the ground floor for visitors to view. Well maintained. Charming owner guides you round his home.

St Mary's Church

By Dave - 09 August 2013

Hello , Sorry to say I have not yet visited St Marys , BUT , One of my ancestors got married here , DAVID REES 1799 Newcastle, Carmarthenshire , and SARAH ELIZABETH JONES 1800 Carmarthen . - St Marys Church , Cardigan , Sept 1825. Any-one reading this , who is connected , I would love to hear from you . share info .

Kiplin Hall

By Carolyn - 04 August 2013

we have had the honor to visit Kiplin Hall twice. The first a brief few hours in March of 2012 the second May 2013. We are seeing many upgrade to the garden in just one year and the house is amazing as it was the time before. We spent four days at Kiplin in May. We attended a Tea, worked the gardens, and attended to a room for visitors. Our 12th great grandfather would be proud of the love and attention that those who see to Kiplin has given. The time of day visited makes a huge difference as to how Kiplin looks to a person. A morning walk around the lake bring forth things and an evening walk you notice other things. The sheep grazing moving from spot to spot depending upon the time of day. The sunshine into the home at different angles and the attention to details both inside and outside are amazing. You feel at home! You feel it could be your home! Few places have made me want to unpack my bag and stay but that is how you feel at Kiplin Hall. I hope to return soon but Illinois is a long haul but worth it!

Easby Abbey

By Carolyn Wands - 04 August 2013

We actually happened upon Easby Abbey while we stayed at Kiplin Hall Maryland Study Center. A Sunday afternoon in May driving through the beauty of the countryside we saw the sign Easby Abbey and decided to check it out. The five of us have decided it was one of the highlights of our Yorkshire vacation. The beauty and setting of the area is amazing. So much to see and it is a photo heaven. The flowers were in bloom and the grass so green and the Abbey stood out majestically wanting to be explored and explore we did. The River runs through the land making for even more amazing views. A quiet few hours of a venture we will not soon forget. Can't believe it is free....what price can a person put on peace, beauty, and solitude. Then just around the corner you have Kiplin Hall and so many other greay stately homes!

The Hospice

By Marian - 30 July 2013

This gem of a house was a complete revelation in every sense. I lived in 'Ogwr' for 47 years never knowing of its existence. I recently returned to the area and saw an 'open day' announcement and was blown away by it. It was saved from modernisation in the nick of time and is now beautifully preserved as it was in the 13 century.Three stone spiral staircases, two inglenook fireplaces, a 'privy and a large porch.Beautiful stone windows and original carved wooden beams.I cannot believe it was almost converted and lost. All we need to know now is who built it and why it is where it is.Thank you to the St' John's Hospice Trust.

Wotton House

By Diana Poole - 30 July 2013

As a small child I spent many happy times with my grandparents who lived at Grenville cottage from 1916 until they died in1942. They are both buried in the churchyard at Wotton and my sister and I were both baptized there. My grandfather, John (Jack) Peet was head gamekeeper there. We spent a lot of time in the grounds and on the estate. I loved every minute of it. Michael has done grand job in the grounds and is restoring the area as I remember it. My mother was an Edmans born at Clearfields Farm. After their marrige my parents moved to Buckingham and granddad would come and collect me in his car. I even remember travelling there from Buckingham by train to Verney Junction,change to Quainton Road and then on the Brill Tram to Woodsiding! What a journey, all for the sake of about 12 miles! Wotton holds a lot of lovely memories for me. Diana Poole, nee Peet.

Fort Brockhurst

By Mary - 26 July 2013

I lived in Fort Brockhurst , my dad was stationed there 1947/50 loved every minuet , climbing out the windows,to the moat and 'fishing for tadpoles',we later moved to married qtrs just down the road,we did our shopping in the Fort , the shop was in the middle, I recommend people going to lock at the place, regards Mary

Newby Hall & Gardens

By Mrs Joan Norton - 24 July 2013

We visited last week, during the July heatwave and enjoyed wandering through the beautuful gardens. Despite the heat, the flowers looked stunning and the double herbaceous borders were a joy to behold. Congratulations to the gardeners! We also enjoyed a lovely lunch there and later in the afternoon had a welcome cuppa under the shade of a tree opposite the cafe. These gardens have been on my "places to visit" list for a few years, and they certainly didnt disappoint. We also enjoyed looking round the Matombo sculpture exhibition, and bought a handsome fruit serpantine stone elephant & calf, which will always remind us of our visit to Newby. We hope to return one day to look round the Hall, as it looks extremely interesting. There appears to be something for everyone there, and children are also very well catered for with the miniature train ride, playground and water features which they can play in.

Mannington Hall

By Peter - 20 July 2013

A charming house in delightful gardens,with the added benefit of an excellent tea shop. Quite the nicest house we visited out of six,including four National trust properties. Highly recommended

Mellerstain House

By Rose Murray - 20 July 2013

Enjoyed my visit to Mellerstain recently, the gardens are stunning and the beautiful smell of the roses was breathtaking the house and its history was very interesting I would recommend to visit Mellerstain as myself and my partner it enjoyed it very much .

Castle Ashby

By june - 16 July 2013

YOU HAVE INDEED AN OUTSTANDING.HOME,GARDENS ETC,WENT TODAY WITH MY DISABLED PARTNER FIRST TIME EVER,FANTASTIC,NEVER KNEW THAT THIS WAS ON THE DOORSTEP,SHAME THAT THE HOUSE IS NOT OPEN TO THE PUBLIC,IS THERE A REASON WHY.

Langstone Court

By Cornelia - 10 July 2013

I visited Llangston Court this morning and was fortunate enough to be able to spend several hours in the not only the beautiful grounds, but also in a superb Walled Garden, which has generously been made available. It is a lovely place for a visit: calm, peaceful and, as a visitor, one is made very welcome. I highly recommend a visit. Lunch on the sheep meadow with the view to the brook is lovely.

Aynhoe Park

By Nicola - 10 July 2013

Visited the Ayhoe Park recently, we had a great day. There's so many interesting and quirky things in the house. I saw they do weddings, spa days and unique home stays too, which looked very interesting.

Write A Review

Have you visited a Stately Home or historic property? Find a home you've visited recently and submit your review!