Stately-Homes.com

Stately-Homes.com - Great Britains Heritage Guide

Search

You Are In

Home All Reviews

All Stately Homes Reviews

121-140 of 500 home reviews

Carn Euny Ancient Village

By Holly - 24 July 2012

This is a wonderful piece of history and highly interesting. Only four of us went and found it extremely remote. From the main road it says '3 miles', but it seems more like 10, so don't panic if you find yourself going through long thin roads. When we got there it was a sunny hot evening in July but nobody was there except a cat that appeared from nowhere and stayed with us throughout the whole of the time there and then suddenly it was gone. It was a loving cat and wanted attention. For us Carn Euny was a very atmospheric, lonely place and I would advise you to go with a group of people. We found ourselves running back to the car with fear!

Goodnestone Park Gardens

By Amit - 24 July 2012

We visited the beautiful Goodnestone Park Gardens on Thursday 5th July 2012 and were delighted with the stupendous surroundings in every way. We had some lunch and after a two hour walk around the grounds, the arboretum and walled garden we returned for some cake and tea. Congratulations to the chef for such very fine food; we enjoyed the salmon quiche and salad and all the cakes that followed! Compiled into a little movie are some photos and videos ~ the gardens as seen from our perspective on that beautiful sunny day. We hope it proves enjoyable and as the saying goes, may every picture be worth a thousand words ~ Video Link: https://vimeo.com/46288216

Highclere Castle

By David Marx - 24 July 2012

On July 9, 2012 my wife having travelled to the UK from Toronto, set our for planned bus trip of visiting Highclere Castle. The coach tour operators blundered completely and there was no bus to take any of the forty or so people who had paid for the trip. Luckily the trip leader Tim Heath, cobbled together we two Canadians, an Irish mother and her daughter, three Dutch ladies and a solo traveller from Australia and we took subways, trains and taxis to the castle. All the other scheduled visitors went home dismayed and bewildered. Finally having arrived at Highclere our trip leader took us through all parts of the castle that were accessible to the public. After an hour inside the castle we were left to our own to dine at one of the several eating areas and shop at the gift store. It was a lovely castle and definitely worth the trip from Toronto. What was truly unforgettable were the grounds around the castle. The building itself is situated on a plateau and so are the grounds around it. Then the topography slopes away and is surrounded by grazing lands and farm animals. Beyond those lower fields, the topography rises in the distance. The grounds around the castle are primarily grass with a few very large trees. It is as pretty a place as I have ever seen and that is my permanent memory of our trip to Highclere.

Delgatie Castle

By Annlouise Gent - 22 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Delgatie Castle in 1992. We were part of a fiber arts group that toured northern Scotland for 5 days visiting various castles and artists studios and events, including the Braemar games. Captain Hay was still alive and Delgatie was owned by him. Joan and her husband were Captain Hay's castle managers. We were welcomed to the castle as if we were visiting family. It is a visit I will never forget. My best to Joan and her tireless efforts to continue the hospitality of Captain Hay.

Hoghton Tower

By Stephen Guy - 20 July 2012

Splendid mansion on its hill. Great old world atmosphere. Good guided tour with much information though not much about the architectural history - many rooms have late 17th cent panelling and fireplaces - this important period of the house was not explained. Still lovely old rooms all the same. Good cafe and fine gardens with fantastic view. Loved the underground passages with old stonework but very damp and cold - perhaps ghosts about! All in all well worth a visit - a gem of Lancashire.

Milton Manor House

By Naomi - 13 July 2012

We had an amazing family day out at Milton Manor. The house is fascinating in its crumbling grandeur, and the staff had arranged a tour of the house in the form of a play which the guests followed from room to room. It was quaint, odd, and thoroughly eccentric, from the acting to Jenny the free roaming donkey, helping herself to cakes off the guests' tables. I can't wait to go back, haven't laughed so much. Ever.

Attingham Park

By Trudi Hyndman - 26 June 2012

We have just returned from Attingham Park and it's a fabulous place to spend a few hours or better still, a full day to fully digest the splendour of this wonderful place. Having gone on the woodland walk with our dog, in itself very enjoyable with excellent paths and long stretches where dogs are allowed off lead - ending with a stroll through part of the deer park where we saw a herd of fallow deer - wonderful! A visit to the Mansion House is a must, without exception all the staff/guides were friendly, knowledgeable and very interesting, which all added greatly to the enjoyment of seeing through this magnificent building. We have visited many NT properties and Attingham Park is somewhere I would love to return to in the future, go now, you won't regret it!!

Black Country Living Museum

By Sandi Peters - 26 June 2012

I have visted the Museum twice and plan to go again later this year. It is a really enjoyable and memorable day out and well worth the entrance fee. You need to allow a full day and wear sensible shoes. It's not really a good place for pushchairs and small children will get bored. The workers are very helpful and watching the crafts fascinating. You will not see it all in one visit, the displays are at set times and you may want to go for a canal boat ride. I recommend the fish and chips which you will have to queue for but it's worth it. I live in Cornwall and I can honestly say that this Museum is far better laid out and good value than most that is on offer in the South West.

Highclere Castle

By Char - 25 June 2012

I was in the UK back in 2002. My friend and I were driving back to London when we saw Highclere and decided to investigate. We drove right up to the front door and looked around...there was no sign of anyone around. I am sure we would not be so lucky today since this was way before Downton Abbey. I was not able to go inside but what a beautiful place it was and the grounds are breathtaking. I hope to visit one day during the tour season.

Bryn Bras Castle

By PAMELA COTTLE - 07 June 2012

I was sent to Bryn Bras during the war about 1940 to 1944. I made many friends while there, but have never had any contact since the nuns left, to return to Hayling Island. I have tried many times to find fellow "evacs" without joy. I wondered if any come to Bryn Bras and in the future ,you would pass my e-mail address to them. I come very often to Brynrefail, where we have a cottage belonging to our climbing club. I was then Pamela Whiter. Thank you. Pam Cottle

Swiss Garden

By Sue Keable - 07 June 2012

My husband and I have been regular visitors to Swiss Garden for some 20 years - with its amazing, beautiful plants and unexpected architectural features (every time you turn a corner another intriguing building seems to appear) it is an absolute joy - and the peacocks are a real bonus! Many people we meet have never heard of the Garden, which is such a shame... though we do appreciate the peace there. All in all a truly wonderful place.

The Lady Waterford Hall & Murals

By Helen Brewin - 03 June 2012

Lady Waterford's murals, in the schoolhouse at Ford, are enchanting. We were so impressed by the quality and size of the works, and very interested to read about this remarkable woman with an amazing vision. What a lovely place to educate children. Very well worth visiting.

Rycote Chapel

By Jackie Baldwin - 15 May 2012

I have been to Rycote chapel on several occassions as my maiden name was Quartermaine. The first time I visited the lady who 'manned' the kiosk asked if I would like to sign a visitors book which she only allowed Quartermaines to sign - this would be around 1983 or so, as I was there with my son who was doing a school project on his ancestors. According to the lady on duty there were visits from hundreds of Quartermaines, many from far afield - Canada and the like. On subsequent visits that person was not there and the custodian knew nothing of the visitors book which was unfortunate as I think it could have been useful for family historians. The chapel never seems to change - it is quite beautiful and serene. My second husband and I had hoped to marry there but unfortunately, in spite of numerous requests by many people (who I assume have some link to it) this is not allowed.

Copped Hall

By Alister Sieghart - 12 May 2012

I was brought up in Paris Hall, lived there throughout the 60s (remember the Bergls next door) and as children we would play in the overgrown gardens of Copped Hall, imagining the legendary secret passage that led to Waltham Abbey.

Stradey Castle

By Wendy Bush - 07 May 2012

Stradey Castle opened its doors in March this year for the general public to view this beautiful historic house, I was fortunate enough to get there to do the heritage tour provided by the current owner Patrick Mansel Lewis and his wife Clare. The first part of the tour was around the garden with all the points of interest pointed out to us, beautiful views of the house were also appreciated from many points in the garden. The second part of the tour involved a steep climb to the top of a tower which gave us spectacular views of the Gower Coast. The House was the final part of the tour and is an on-going project, there are many examples of art and period furniture,it also feels like a family home with the current owners' family photos scattered everywhere. Finally tea in the dining room where the owners chatted with all the visitors, they seemed genuinely interested in what everyone thought of the Castle and were interested in ideas for this house to be preserved for future generations. I would definitely recommend a visit to this beautiful house and watch this space this is something special.

Spetchley Park Gardens

By David Bowd-Exworth - 29 April 2012

The gardens were looking lovely last week: a garden to re-visit throughout the summer to find out what's in bloom.

Shugborough

By Batu - 22 April 2012

Enjoyed my visit to Shugborough enormously. Lovely house and gardens. Felt quite moved and rather melancholy seeing Patrick Lichfield's private apartment I slightly felt I was invading his privacy.

Dundonald Castle

By Les Buick - 20 April 2012

My wife and I were visiting from Australia and thoroughly enjoyed our vist to Dundonald Castle. It was one of the smaller castles we have visited and from afar looks very much a ruin, but to our surprise it still had so much to offer and to explore both inside and out. The castle site is steeped in history from as far back as the Iron Age and our visit was made so much more interesting with a personal tour with the trust guide named Stacey, who enthusiastically brought the castle's history and past very much to life and made our visit so much fun. Thank you so much and we will certainly spread the word to our friends in Australia that Dundonald Castle is very much worth a visit when visiting Scotland. Many thanks Stacey (I hope we have correctly spelt your name) for your enthusiasm and hospitality. Les & Naomi (Canberra Australia )

Maunsel House

By Mother of the Bride - 17 April 2012

Maunsel exceeds all expectation! a superb wedding venue, which does not have the "wedding factory" feel of so many other venues we looked at, Maunsel has soul ..... and a little magic. Superb wedding planners - full of enthusiasm and always willing to go "the extra mile" - combined with cheerful and happy service staff to provide a wedding day which ran so faultlessly that guests are still commenting! We could not have asked for more! Quite simply: 5* A huge thank you to Sir Ben and his entire team, for making my daughter and son-in-laws' wedding day into the day of their dreams.

Hellens

By Jennie Craine - 13 April 2012

I visited Hellens yesterday with my family and a friend, and have to say it's one of the most interesting houses I have ever been to. It is an absolute treasure-house of wonderful paintings and artifacts which connect us with Britain's long past. We had a most enjoyable guided tour and I am already planning a return visit. It isn't very often that one visits somewhere with such a sense of history and yet feels so close to that story - not at arm's length as in some of the country's more Stately Homes.

Write A Review

Have you visited a Stately Home or historic property? Find a home you've visited recently and submit your review!