Burghley House, Lincolnshire

Reviews

Search stately homes

 

Review a stately home

Leave your review here
* required information

Please enter the characters you see below. Click here for a different captcha image.

Review: Copped Hall

Copped Hall
By Jenny Pugh - 06 April 2015

I was bought up on the Copped Hall Estate, my grandparents used to run New Farm for many years and my father used to work on the land. My mother used to work for the Seigharts opposite at Paris Hall and we as children used to play with the family. We used to visit Copped Hall Mansion and the gardens, along with the secret passages, it was a lovely place to grow up. Its wonderful seeing such care being taken in restoring the property. I hope to come and visit this year and see the change.

Review: Bryn Bras Castle

Bryn Bras Castle
By Maureen Taylor - 12 February 2015

I was at Bryn Bras Castle during 1942 to 1945ish. and having lived in Highgate, North London. I was split from my family because of the war. Although I was very young at the time I thought the castle was very big with beautiful surroundings, although I missed my parents terribly I can remember looking through a window looking at the steam train. I do also remember being taken by the Sisters for walks.After the war the Sisters returned to Haying Island in Hampshire, St Patrick's School Girl's not that far from where I live now, unfortunately, that has now been demolished. I keep promising myself to return to Bryn Bras Castle because it was looking back a beautiful place and holds lots of memories .I note that a Pauline Cotterill was also there at the same and gave you her emailaddress perhaps you would be kind enough to give her mine please.Thank you. My maiden name was Maureen Webster.

Review: Carlton Towers

Carlton Towers
By Mary rylands - 08 February 2015

My husband and myself stayed at Carlton Towers last weekend,and I have to say it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience from the moment we arrived in the car park and being met by one of the staff,to the lovely food,room and the actual home itself, We were given lots of attention by Max who looked after us during our stay ,including giving us a tour of the house itself, The fact that that there was only one other lovely couple from Hull who were celebrating their anniversary,made it even more special, The room we stayed in was beautiful,everything provided,but if we needed anything nothing was too much trouble to get it for us, We have no negative comments about Carlton Towers and hope we will go back soon if we are able to get another groupon deal,

Review: Bywell Hall

Bywell Hall
By John Taylor - 04 February 2015

Bywell Hall is the most fascinating place. Very welcoming as it is a family home and everything is left as the family have when they are living there. The guides are very informative and there are some lovely paintings to see as well as beautiful furniture and china. You receive the most warm welcome from the administrator with complimentary coffee or tea and biscuits. Well worth a visit!

Review: Stourton House Flower Garden

Stourton House Flower Garden
By michele phelps - 03 February 2015

Visiting Stourton House Flower garden and speaking with Elizabeth was one of the most memorable experiences we had on our trip to England. Walking through the garden made me feel like I had slipped into "The Secret Garden" I had read about as a child. I will remember my visit and the sensations of the experience for all my time! An absolute MUST is taking tea and cake when you come out of the garden! Such a simple pleaseure to treasure.

Review: Martello Tower Number 3

Martello Tower Number 3
By June Howkins - 30 January 2015

Sometime between 1891 and 1901 my Great Grandparents, George Finn and Louisa Elizabeth moved to Martello Tower No.3 with their family, as recorded in the 1901 Census. The marriage of their daughter, Florence Rebecca to John William Durban [my Grandparents] in 1898 was reported in the local newspaper in 1948, at time of their Golden Wedding Anniversary. Florence and John were interviewed for an article which appeared in the Folkestone and Hythe Herald and which confirmed that their marriage took place from Tower No 3 on 21 February 1898. The article goes on to record that, as part of the celebrations, the father of the bride sent a large balloon up which it was said made the French nervous wondering about an invasion!

Review: Stobhall

Stobhall
By G.Drummond - 28 January 2015

David Lord Drummond hosted our visit 12 years ago.Most gracious. Of the two, Stobhall has so much more to offer than Drummond Castle, despite the latter's more impressive gardens. The heroic vista over Tayside is impressive by itself. One finds himself enraptured by an unexplainable serenity within those noble walls. The garden was in impeccable and beautiful order. I wish I could say the same for our Perth Amboy, NJ

Review: Bryn y Gwin Uchaf

Bryn y Gwin Uchaf
By K. Meyers - 15 January 2015

I am not sure whether this message will reach anyone connected with Bryn y Gwin Uchaf since the last post date was in 2007? I am beginning a family history search and have received a marriage certificate dated December 1889 where a Great Grandmother was married at St. Mary's Church in Dolgelley. Her address is given as Bryn-y-Gwin Uchaf. Her name is Emma Vinney and father William Vinney. Do you have any information - they were probably servants at the time? Regards

Review: Stranraer Castle

Stranraer Castle
By B Mellor - 02 January 2015

great place to visit especially with children, lots of interesting rooms, loads of information. Children can dress up and there is a 'suprise' in the prison cells - made me jump! My Grandson loved it

Review: The Cowper & Newton Museum

The Cowper & Newton Museum
By Kate Bostock - 12 November 2014

What an unexpected treasurehouse this is, and a lovely garden too. It's like walking back in time, quaint, steep stairs and not too well-lit, but it's full of pictures and eighteenth century furniture and textiles, and mementoes of William Cowper the poet and his friend John Newton, who wrote 'Amazing Grace'. A lovely half-day out.

Review: Great Fulford

Great Fulford
By Chris Marshall - 03 October 2014

I have visited fulford twice once for a meeting, and later a ghost hunt. The main part of the house dates back to the 11th century with later additions built up around it. It represents all styles through the centuries. the views are breathtaking and the lake is wonderful. The Fulfords have lived here since the land was granted by King Richard the Lionheart and very unusually still own both the land and house. On my visits i found the Fulfords were very hospitable and knowledgable and put everyone at ease. The house is not aided by any grants from government or any organisation like English heretage or National Trust so renovation progresses as it can be afforded. It is well worth a visit.

Review: Wotton House

Wotton House
By hugh talmage - 21 September 2014

Since writing a comment almost two years ago there have been 14 replies from the "OLD BOYS" of the 1953 period . Several of us have revisited Wotton together which was so interesting with all the memories that came forth . We all agreed we ENJOYED our time at Wotton .Please contact me if you were at the school in 1950"s hughraj@talktalk.net Thank you HUGH P.S please put in e-mail or telephone number 01647 61761 . THANK YOU .

Review: Wolfeton House

Wolfeton House
By Norman White - 06 September 2014

Hard to find and access by farm track leading to photogenic gate house. Made most welcome by the owner Captain Thimbleby. Property an absolute gem. Well worth the visit. Large, and southern aspect impressive, from garden laid to lawn. Self guided tour which leaves little out. Developed over many centuries with period wall panelling. Superb ceilings from16th century (possibly earlier) Fantastic fireplaces. Think Bucland Abbey and then some more Plenty of family heirlooms and portraits. Chapel in gatehouse. Cider in buttery. Having been to 100s of UK historic houses since 1970 this has to be in the top 5.

Review: Longner Hall

Longner Hall
By Brian Felgate - 03 September 2014

My wife and I visited yesterday and were handsomely rewarded. This is a private home with the family in residence and the rooms seen on the guided tour, displaying designs by John Nash at his very best, also felt homely and most inviting. The Hall seen from outside is very attractive and in the Gothic style. The landscaping of the Gardens and Parkland make a feature of the outstanding view to the Shropshire Hills in the distance. Our friendly guide (Jan) made us very welcome and treated us with her extensive knowledge of the Hall and the Family. We also encountered the Owner (Mr Burton) who was happy to enter into conversation with us. All in all we had a very enjoyable afternoon and I recommend that you seek out this Gem of a Home and enjoy the peace and tranquillity of the gardens.

Review: Highclere Castle

Highclere Castle
By Shan Clayton - 02 September 2014

I visited Highclere Castle last month on a private tour with P&P Tours and it was fab, the best day tour ever. The grounds are amazing and what stood out most, although the castle was amazing also.

Review: Delgatie Castle

Delgatie Castle
By Tracey McNulty - 27 August 2014

Just returned from a long weekend in the Symbister Suite of the Delgatie Castle with the family.What a wonderful place this is ample space for a family with 2 children. The grounds are superb and the tea room has the most beautiful home baked cakes and scones. The castle itself is central to the coastal drive of Scotland and is an ideal base for visiting other areas. Would definitely stay here again, thank you for a superb break

Review: Wotton House

Wotton House
By Sarah Olney - 14 August 2014

My father The Rev. Alan Ross and my mother, Kathleen Ross (State Registered Nurse) ran Wotton House School after the War. My mother is still alive and sometimes hears from the Old Boys, so if there are any Old Boys who would like to get in touch with her, please email me and I will put you in touch, she loves to hear how you are all getting on. Very fond memories of growing up in such a lovely place for my family. Sarah.

Review: Audley End House

Audley End House
By j taylor - 22 July 2014

absolutely stunning,helpful friendly staff,good value food,and the black swan is utterly enchanting! it came right up to feed,and wasn't afraid of us at all-magical. house and grounds were amazing,and visitors are free to wander the grounds unimpeded,even to walking on the grass. I bought - amongst other things - a pineapple mint plant,which actually did smell strongly of pineapple. The lady in the shop was really nice,as was the 'cook', this lady was definitely into her role.

Review: The Hall at Abbey-Cwm-Hir

The Hall at Abbey-Cwm-Hir
By Gill Harries - 04 July 2014

Last Saturday,some friends and I spent a very enjoyable afternoon at The Hall at Abbey Cwm Hir. What an amazing place! Paul was the perfect guide, explaining all about the history of The Hall, and showing us how incredibly artistic his wife,Victoria is. Every room is just full of clever use of fabrics, and displays of all kinds of different things. Eat your heart out, Linda Barker! And, at the end of the tour,a lovely cup of tea or coffee in a china cup and saucer. Also, home made cake. An absoiutely delightful outing. I would highly recommend a visit. I will definitely go back.

Review: Stock Gaylard House

Stock Gaylard House
By Linda Gough - 25 June 2014

We visited stock Gaylard House on 24 June 2014. We were greeted and shown around the house by Mr Langmead. We had a truly wonderful time looking around the house which is full of light and has a fascinating family history. The house is decorated beautifully and there are many delightful things to look at. Mr Langmead has a wonderful sense of family history and an immense pride in his home being very proactive in the renovation and upkeep of this stunning house. This is one country estate truly in safe hands. Well worth the visit. Linda & Malcolm Gough

Review: Moseley Old Hall

Moseley Old Hall
By Matthew kings - 01 June 2014

Me and my fiancé enjoyed it today, fascinating place and what made it was the guided tour, we wish all nat trust places was same, makes such a difference to learn about history of place, great day

Review: Castle Bromwich Hall Gardens

Castle Bromwich Hall Gardens
By margaret warren - 14 May 2014

Lovely setting and beautiful gardens, it is tended by hard working volunteers and definitely one to visit

Review: Pallant House Gallery

Pallant House Gallery
By Simon Fraser - 14 May 2014

I visited the Stanley Spencer Exhibition and found it fantastic. I knew Stanley Spencer when I lived in Cookham. He was a familiar sight pushing his pram around which contained his easel and paints.

Review: Hellens

Hellens
By Morgan Rowley - 30 April 2014

This house is splendid and a real find. It feels ancient, is ancient and the guides well...My family and I visited this historic house right at the beginning of the season this year (April 2014) and will be going back before the end! It is full of fascinating facts and incredible history but never dull, the guides are very entertaining it really does feel like a home. Gorgeous gardens too. Will be going back for their Classical Music Festival at the beginning of May'14. Wonderful.

Review: The Hall at Abbey-Cwm-Hir

The Hall at Abbey-Cwm-Hir
By shirley rundle - 19 April 2014

Have just returned from a coach tour of Llandrindod Wells with Majestic and one of the trips was to The Hall at Abbey-Cwm-Hir and what a trip it was, all i seem to be saying is Oh my isn't it lovely.Every room had so much to see I feel i must go back again sometime as there is so much and you just cannot take it all in.We did not have time to look around the gardens which we were told was well worth a tour so that's for the next time.I would like to thank Paul who took us around the house he was very witty and made the whole visit very entertaining.